Skip to content

Bicycle

April 24, 2011

I remember my first bicycle.  It was a light purple Care Bears bike that my dad removed the training wheels from when I was ready.  You had to keep pedaling.  It didn’t coast.  I’d be tired out, trying to keep up with my brother.

My next, true two-wheeler was a pink Huffy that Santa brought me.  I decked it out with neon beads in the spokes that made noise when you rode slowly.  Ever the daredevil, my ride was usually quiet.  I would speed down the street using the speed bumps as ramps, as I’d seen my brother and the older boys do.

This week’s Illustration Friday word is “bicycle.”  It reminded me of the Care Bears, my pink Huffy and riding before helmets were required.  Here’s to fresh air flowing through your hair and the open (sidewalk) road. Cheers!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 7:48 pm

    Those neon beads were awesome! I love how she is leaving the training wheels behind.

  2. April 24, 2011 10:32 pm

    Thanks, Ruth! I’m glad you enjoyed my piece. I had fun drawing it.

Leave a Reply

