Skip to content

Eye Spy: Winston-Salem, NC

October 18, 2011

Had a great time visiting my alma mater, Wake Forest University, and visiting with longtime friends.  It was like I saw them yesterday.  Although we’ve been out of school for ten years, only the ever-changing campus was unfamiliar.

The mainstays are there – Wait Chapel, the Quad, Reynolda Hall, the Benson University Center, and the confusing construction of Tribble Hall.  There are new classroom buildings and a new dorm.  South Hall has yet to find a generous benefactor and receive a true name.  Even the football stadium has undergone a facelift with the addtions of Deacon Tower, Bowl banners, a bronze statue of our beloved Demon Deacon, and a new hi-definition video board.  While it looked a lot different and I couldn’t get past the fact that these kids can now get sushi on campus, it still felt like home.

Here are a few photos that I’ve posted to my CapitalK Facebook page.  These are not the fun party ones.  Eye Spy: Winston-Salem, NC features photos taken around town, on campus, and at the football game . I wish I had more time to walk around downtown.  I love a good photo of an old factory or warehouse.

I don’t know why I’ve never done this in the city where I currently live.  I think “Eye Spy” will be my new series of just that – what I see when I’m exploring. Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

